EYEWEAR IS THE GATEWAY TO THE SOUL – FW12

Oh sunnies, how I do adore thee. The eyewear offerings this FW12 season came in a slew of shapes, finishes, and contexts, representative of each collection and, ultimately, the man wearing them. The classic aviator shape ran rampant throughout, naturally, but were pushed and played with in the better collections. In the way of lenses, we saw gradient (1,4), mirror (4),  solid (3), and clear (5, 6). Speaking of pushing and being playful, Kris Van Assche (5) channeled geek-chic by adding splash guards on the temples of his clear frames, which resembled safety goggles and fit seamlessly with the tone of his collection.

  1. Gucci
  2. Lanvin
  3. Dries Van Noten
  4. Louis Vuitton
  5. Kris Van Assche
  6. DSquared2
My favourite? It’s a tossup between Lanvin (2) and Louis Vuitton (4). I was blessed with a great face for eyewear, so it’s rather easy for me to play around with different shapes and pull them off. My go-to shape has always been the oversized Gucci acetate tear drop aviator – over it (almost).  Both frames pack a statement, and have that boxy/rectangular shape I’ve decided to take on for the season – time to change it up.
Which pair(s) speak(s) to you? Let me know!

Source: 1

3 Comments

  1. My fave for sure are #4! I need to buy a few new pairs this year and if I can find them, I’ll definitely buy those ones

  2. Wayfarers and Clubmaster’s all the way 😀 I love sunnies, too. Have you heard the song “I wear my sunglasses at night” by Corey Hart? It is my ode to my sunglasses

    • Wayfarers, agreed(see #6 – rounded, my fav)! I seem to always forget my main shades at home or at the office, so I keep a $7.00 pair of Alfred Sung’s in my breast pocket sans case or anything, JUST in case.

      I’ve definitely heard that song before. #classic http://youtu.be/VxIwRDs1Yc8

Comments:

